What is a 4-Point Inspection?

A 4-point home inspection is to check to see if your house is in a good state. It’s called a 4-point inspection because it checks out four major systems in your home like the roof, electrical, plumbing, and HVAC (heating, ventilation, and air conditioning).

A lot of insurance companies require a 4-point inspection before you can get home insurance because it helps the insurer get a better idea of the risks in the home they may be insuring. It also helps the insurer get an unbiased opinion on the house’s condition from a professional.

What Does a 4-Point Inspection Cover?

A 4-point inspection covers these major components found in a lot of homes:

HVAC System: heating, ventilation, and air conditioning

Electrical System: Electrical wiring and electrical panels 

Plumbing System: Hot water heater and water damage

Roofing: Roof covering and roof shingles.

What If You Fail a 4-Point Inspection?

4-point inspections are “pass” or “fail”. If you’re buying a home that failed, you may have to negotiate with the seller to make repairs, find an insurance company that won’t need a 4-point inspection, or ask the insurance company if you can get extra time to make necessary repairs.

Bottom Line

A 4-point inspection is necessary to get home insurance. It lets the insurer know of the risks that may be in your home. If your home fails, you should find the best insurance for you but you should also get a home inspection to make sure there are no other potential risks in your home.

  • Get Quote