Preheader Home Page Get A Quote About Us Jobs Payments Contact Us Blog English Espanol Auto Commercial Home Home page
Postheader
Make a Payment More Products Locations

Biking on the open road

 

There are thousands upon thousands of miles of open road in the Lone Star State. With so many wonders to see, Texas is an attraction for all travelers, including bikers. There’s nothing better than hitting the road on your motorcycle, right?

You might be able to enjoy the open road, but look out for penalties if you break the law. Riding a motorcycle comes with a variety of special laws and driving requirements. Therefore, before you hit the road, follow these steps to comply with all the rules.

1. Get Motorcycle Insurance

Most Texas motorcyclists have to carry proof of financial responsibility. Usually, this involves getting motorcycle insurance. The state requires minimum liability insurance valued at:

  • $30,000 bodily injury or fatality coverage per person
  • $60,000 bodily injuries or fatalities coverage per accident
  • $25,000 property damage coverage per accident

While there exist other ways to prove financial responsibility, insurance is one of the most secure.

Remember, you cannot insure your motorcycle with standard car insurance. You must get a specific motorcycle policy. Your insurance agent can help you tailor your coverage to more specific levels. You might be able to add collision, comprehensive, uninsured/underinsured protection and more. This can help you better protect yourself.

2. Obtain Qualifications to Ride

Biking is not like driving a car. Your motorcycle requires extra skill and precision to ride. Many states require bikers to get extra qualifications on their licenses.

Texas bikers must get a Class M license to legally operate. This involves completing a state-approved motorcycle safety course. You then apply for the license at your local license office. Different bikers, including minors, might face different licensing requirements. Check with the Texas Department of Public Safety for more information.

3. Follow Safety Gear Rules

You remain exposed to the open air on you bike. This greatly increases your chances of injury should an accident occur. Therefore, many bikers use safety gear, notably helmets, to protect themselves. Many states require bikers to wear this gear at all times.

Texas has its own version of a helmet law:

  • All bikers under 21 years old must wear helmets
  • Bikers over 21 can go without helmets
    • Only if they have passed a motorcycle safety course or
    • If they have an applicable health insurance plan. Texas law establishes requirements to help people determine if they have qualifying insurance. Usually, the health insurance must cover motorcycle injuries.

Nevertheless, even if you don’t have to use a helmet, you should still do so. Protecting your safety should be your first priority on your bike. Gear, training and insurance can all go hand in hand to help you stay safe on the road.

Contact us for a Dallas motorcycle insurance quote.

Share |


No Comments


Post a Comment
Name
Required
E-Mail
Required (Not Displayed)
Comment
Required


All comments are moderated and stripped of HTML.
Submission Validation
Required
CAPTCHA
Change the CAPTCHA codeSpeak the CAPTCHA code
 
Enter the Validation Code from above.
NOTICE: This blog and website are made available by the publisher for educational and informational purposes only. It is not be used as a substitute for competent insurance, legal, or tax advice from a licensed professional in your state. By using this blog site you understand that there is no broker client relationship between you and the blog and website publisher.
Blog Archive


View Mobile Version
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Blog RSS Google Maps